Forums » General » Enquiring minds want to know

Messages for Enquiring minds want to know

Comment Posted by spider Nov 22, 2009 07:45 AM

If there is anyone out there who can shed some light, here is a question never before previously seen on any Winnipeg football forum.

Looking for some insight.

I just witnessed two player injuries, involving knees. The players in question basically inflicted the damage themselves. Simply put they made a cut, and injured themselves.

As a coach I have seen this potentially happen many times. (Obviously, like thousands of coaches we try and teach the proper mechanics of making such a cut) Withregardto these injury situations, a player tries to make a cut, and I assume due to their speed, power and change of direction,on artificial turf in particular, they get injured.

Now not all touch football players come from football coached backgrounds. Is that a problem with regard to making a "cut" (change of directon for non-football trained people???)

It's almost like we should have players who register, sign a form noting they have been taught how to make a cut(especially on artificial turf)

Maybe we should hold a mandatory player clinic, providing players with info on "how to make a cut in football." I would think that most players withsome formal football training, have been taught by our coaches, to "break down"(slow down), lower the centre of gravity, and then plant your foot in a 3 step prepatory sequence before the final plant to change direction??? Yes?? NO??

Does that sound logical??